Announcing the Auto Mini-Dump Analyser

Sometimes when I’m on the move I can’t get to a WinDbg console; so for convenience I’ve set up an automated email responder that will analyse mini dump files that you will find in C:\Windows\Minidump folder after a blue screen of death. Mainly I wanted this so I can forward emails with .dmp files to get analysed from my phone/tablet.

For now I’ll make this publicly available to anyone who wants to use it. This service is provided as-is with absolutely no warranties and may go down/become unavailable at any time. There is no support, I welcome suggestions but can’t guarantee they will be actioned. Use at your own risk & enjoyment.

How It Works

Send an email to autodumpreport@tiange.com.au with attached DMPs, multiple are OK. Do not ZIP them.

image

 

Analysis

A PC at home runs a scheduled task every few minutes to check the autodumpreport email address. The application is a C# console app, I’ve used the OpenPOP library to access the emails. (http://sourceforge.net/projects/hpop/)

Once the DMP files are downloaded we then process with Windows Debugging Tools using kd.exe and a script to perform common analysis as per

http://www.dumpanalysis.org/blog/index.php/2007/08/29/minidump-analysis-part-1/

For each .dmp file submitted you will get a summary in body. Pretty much this is the output of the following debugger commands:

  • ||
  • vertarget
  • !analyse –v
  • lm <image name identified in !analyse –v>

In addition a ZIP file with individual detailed .txt reports for each .dmp file will be attached to the email. Currently I’m using the DotNetZip library (http://dotnetzip.codeplex.com/) to ZIP attachment.

image

Typically a response should be received in less than 5 minutes, but this will be longer if many DMP files are submitted at same time, or if server is having maintenance done. Or my home internet is down (common…) or my service provider’s POP3 service is unavailable (happens sometimes…)

For tips on understanding data in this report refer to

http://www.dumpanalysis.org/blog/index.php/2007/08/29/minidump-analysis-part-2/

Privacy

Your email address is not recorded; and your email is deleted from server as soon as my application responds to it. I may on some occasions need to review content / mini-dumps submitted to improve quality of my program, but they will not be shared with any 3rd parties. Data between mail server and processing is not encrypted, if that concerns you don’t use this service.

About chentiangemalc

specializes in end-user computing technologies. disclaimer 1) use at your own risk. test any solution in your environment. if you do not understand the impact/consequences of what you're doing please stop, and ask advice from somebody who does. 2) views are my own at the time of posting and do not necessarily represent my current view or the view of my employer and family members/relatives. 3) over the years Microsoft/Citrix/VMWare have given me a few free shirts, pens, paper notebooks/etc. despite these gifts i will try to remain unbiased.
This entry was posted in Debugging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

